National Symbols of India

National symbols represents country's cultural, historical and natural heritage. The National Symbol of India are intrinsic to Indian identity and culture. These infuses a sense of pride and brotherhood among all the communities of India.

National symbols of India are:

  1. National Flag - Tiranga
  2. National Emblem- Lion Capital of Ashoka
  3. National Anthem - Jana Gana Mana
  4. National Song - Vande Mataram
  5. National Animal - Tiger
  6. National Heritage Animal - Elephant
  7. National Bird - Peacock
  8. National Flower - Lotus
  9. National Tree – Banayan Tree
  10. National Calender – Shaka Calender
  11. National Fruit - Mango
  12. National Vegetable - Indian Pumpkin (kaddu)
  13. National Aquatic Animal - Ganges River Dolphin
  14. National Language - No national language
  15. National game - Hockey
  16. National Currency – Indian Rupee
  17. National River - Ganga

National Flag:

The Indian National Flag also known as the Tiranga, consists of three horizontal stripes of equal width. The top stripe is saffron (kesari) which represents courage and sacrifice, the middle stripe is white which represents purity and truth, and the bottom stripe is green, representing fertility, growth, and auspiciousness. In the center of the white stripe is a navy blue wheel called the Ashoka Chakra, with 24 spokes, which represents progress and righteousness.

National Emblem/ State Emblem:

The National Emblem of India is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka, which is a sculpture found at the Sarnath in Uttar Pradesh. The emblem features four Asiatic lions standing back to back, representing power, courage, pride, and confidence. The lions rest on a circular abacus with the motto <.b>"Satyameva Jayate" (Truth Alone Triumphs) inscribed in Devanagari script below it.

National Anthem:

The National Anthem of India is "Jana Gana Mana," composed by Rabindranath Tagore in Bengali and is sung to honor the country and express a sense of unity and patriotism.. It was adopted as the national anthem on January 24, 1950.

National Song:

The National Song of India is "Vande Mataram," also composed by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee which is written in Sanskrit and is an ode to the motherland, expressing love and devotion to India.
It was adopted as the national song on January 24, 1950.

National Animal:

The National Animal of India is the Tiger (Panthera tigris). It symbolizes strength, grace, and agility. The Bengal Tiger is native to the Indian subcontinent and is considered an important part of India's biodiversity.

National Bird:

The National Bird of India is the Indian Peacock (Pavo cristatus). A peacock is known for its vibrant plumage and is considered a symbol of beauty, grace, and pride. It is also associated with spirituality and is often depicted in Indian art and culture.

National Flower:

The National Flower of India is the Lotus (Nelumbo nucifera). The lotus symbolizes purity, beauty, and spiritual enlightenment. It has deep cultural and religious significance in India and is often associated with goddesses and deities.

National Tree:

The National Tree of India is the Banyan Tree (Ficus benghalensis). It is known for its extensive root system and large canopy, which represents longevity, immortality, and interconnectedness. The banyan tree is often considered a sacred tree and is associated with knowledge and wisdom.

National Calender:

The national calendar is based on the Saka Era, with Chaitra as its first month and a normal year of 365 days was adopted from 22 March 1957 along with the Gregorian calendar for the following official purposes:

  • Gazette of India.
  • News broadcast by All India Radio.
  • Calendars issued by the Government of India.
  • Government communications addressed to the public.

Dates of the national calendar have a permanent correspondence with dates of the Gregorian calendar, 1 Chaitra falling on 22 March normally and on 21 March in leap year.

National Fruit:

The title of national fruit of India is given to Mango (Magnifera Indica). It is native to India and is named as ‘phalon ka raja’/ ‘king of fruits’ by Indian people. It is rich source of vitamin A,C and D. India hosts over 100 varieties of juicy mangoes that can be of green, orange, yellow and shades of red.

National Aquatic Animal:

The Ganges River Dolphin or also called 'Susu,' is the National Aquatic Animal of India. Gangetic Dolphins are found in the river systems of Ganga, Brahmaputra, Meghna, and Karnaphuli- Sangu in Nepal, India, and Bangladesh.

National Language:

There is no national language in India. However Hindi and English are official languages of Government of India.

More Blogs